Project 1-Reading About Art-Exercise 3

Reading the extract from The OCA Student website – Art History: The basics By Grant Pooke and Diana Newell (2008, Abingdon:Routledge)- Accessed 17th March 2016.

The notes I have made from reading the first few pages of the extract are below;notes exercise 3

The new words and phrases I haven’t heard before-

Delphic Observation- ambiguous and obscure. I like this word.

  1. 1:  of or relating to ancient Delphi or its oracle

  2. often not capitalized :  ambiguous, obscure <Delphic utterances>

http://www.merriam-webster.com/dictionary/delphic-Accessed 17th March 2016

Disparate -Objects- different from each other-I have heard this in conversation, I think maybe on the TV as ‘It is disparately obvious, he is no good’ now I know he is just different, not ‘no’ good.

  1. 1:  containing or made up of fundamentally different and often incongruous elements

  2. 2:  markedly distinct in quality or character

 http://www.merriam-webster.com/dictionary/disparate-Accessed 17th March 2016

Hegemonic- Influence or control over another country, a group of people, etc. I have honestly never heard of this word before.

  1. 1:  preponderant influence or authority over others :  domination <battled for hegemony in Asia>

  2. 2:  the social, cultural, ideological, or economic influence exerted by a dominant group.

 http://www.merriam-webster.com/dictionary/hegemonic-Accessed 17th March 2016

Collage by Braque. Well this was a very pleasant surprise as I hadn’t heard of this artist before looking him up. It was the word collage that did it.  There is so much to see and learn about him and his artwork is beautiful. I think he is my new favourite now and I am going to look for all of the  books about him. You can read more about him here-http://www.theartstory.org/artist-braque-georges.htm– Accessed 17th March 2016.

The Bird 1949 by Georges Braque 1882-1963

The Bird 1949 Georges Braque 1882-1963 Presented by Patrick Seale Prints 1975 http://www.tate.org.uk/art/work/P01698

I thought the text was an interesting piece but I feel no further on in determining what art is or being able to define it, except for the quote ‘Ideas and definitions of art are neither timeless of beyond history’. Yes I believe this as it is whoever is looking, whoever is seeing and whatever they think art is to them. I’ve discovered new words and definitions and a new artist by reading the text so that’s a good thing as it has brought me further into finding out what I like.

Leave a Reply

