Visits- New Worlds Exhibition, Kirkby Gallery.

After visiting Tate Liverpool to see the Matisse exhibition in March, I decided to take myself to see New Worlds at Kirkby Art Gallery.

kirkby-new-worlds

This was my first time visiting the gallery and with my love for Brutalist architecture I got carried away in the council car park looking at old parking fonts and tower blocks. The gallery is on the first floor of the Kirkby Centre, a nice building with a library and a cafe and a giant wooden elephant in the window.

kirkby-21

kirkby-34

kirkby-2

Artwork mural in the library by William Mitchell – accessed 7th May 2016.

It was a lovely treat to see this panel in the library. I have often thought about seeing more of William Mitchell’s pieces as quite a few bits of his work is dotted in and around Liverpool. There is a list HERE.- accessed 7th May 2016.

The exhibition information-

‘The 60’s was an exciting period in time for town planning and local building projects, as it set out idealised visions on how people should live, play and travel around the town that they live, informed by the physical architecture and geography around them.

This optimism and dynamic thinking is reflected within the array of artworks which was being made by leading artists of that time. New Worlds is based around work from 1964, the year when the original Kirkby Library, home of Kirkby Gallery, was built. It includes work by a number of leading British artists who best represent that energetic period of creativity’

http://knowsleynews.co.uk/new-worlds-brings-big-name-art-kirkby/– accessed 7th May 2016

I was excited to see the Elisabeth Frink statue they had on show as I have a soft spot for her Ascent of Man statue at Manchester airport. I always thought it was called Icarus but there doesn’t seem to be that much about it on the internet, except for the picture below. If you look closely straight down by the window you can see it. Those chandeliers were my favourite thing as a kid when visiting the airport and they are a big part of my childhood. One of them is on permanent display at The World of Glass in St.Helens which is 10 minutes away from me. I shall make a special trip to gaze at it soon.

airport-01

Taken from –http://www.mainstreammodern.co.uk/casestudies.aspx/Detail/32/manchester-airport-terminal-building– accessed 6th May 2016

The gallery rules were NO photography, but I managed to get a few from underneath my coat. For my place piece I looked at the installation ‘Olaf Street Study’ 1966. by Mark Boyle and Joan Hills.

New-worlds1

I couldn’t get a picture of the actual piece so I have used this one from the http://knowsleynews.co.uk/new-worlds-brings-big-name-art-kirkby/ website showing it on the wall at the exhibition. I have ever seen anything like before especially as an artwork. It is two panels of dirt, brick and stones and it contained broken glass and bits of rubbish off the street. It was said that it is an imagination of the ground beneath their feet. This is a better picture of it taken from –https://nottsarthistory.wordpress.com/2013/08/01/uncommon-ground-land-art-in-britain-1966-77/– accessed 7th May 2016

800x450_UG1536P2

Mark Boyle & Joan Hills, Olaf Street Study, 1966, brick, mixed media, resin and board, 213.4 x 218.4cm (84 x 86″). Arts Council Collection, Southbank Centre, London © the artist
Taken from- https://nottsarthistory.wordpress.com/2013/08/01/uncommon-ground-land-art-in-britain-1966-77/– accessed 7th May 2016

I feel that this is a good piece about place and looking into further work they have created such as Earth Pieces 1963-present– accessed 7th may 2016, It seems the natural world and where people live is a big inspiration to the artists. I liked that it captured a memory of a particular place. They have recreated a moment of a place and its moment in time also. It is a site specific piece as it has been recreated from memory of an actual floor, with parts of the original ground being taken and used in it. Reminiscent of a building site with litter and bricks strewn. I had to go back to it and look at it again as at first I wasn’t sure but after finding out more about it and desperately trying to find a picture to show, I like it more each time I look at it.

For a piece about time I have chosen Patrick Caulfields-  ‘Oh Helen, I roam my room.’

http://www.tate.org.uk/art/artworks/caulfield-15-oh-helen-i-roam-my-room-p07166-accessed 7th May 2016

This piece was part of the flyer for the exhibition. I didn’t give it much thought until I looked at the original painting. I feel it gives a sense of time by the glass being left, the loneliness of it, the window that looks out onto a view of whatever the viewer perceives. Researching further about the artist he was a great follower of the work of the poet Laforgue (accessed 7th May 2016)

‘Much of Laforgue’s poetry attempts to capture the banality of everyday life. In complaint about a certain Sunday, for example, there is an underlying tension between the need for outward repose and the inner hysteria that the poet is experiencing through sheer boredom. One of the line’s Caulfield chose to accompany is “Watch me eat, without appetite, à la carte”

Taken from –http://poulwebb.blogspot.co.uk/2012/07/patrick-caulfield-part-4.html-accessed 7th May 2016

15. 'Oh Helen, I roam my room' 1973 by Patrick Caulfield 1936-2005

The piece was made in 1976 and the colours and style are very reminiscent of the time. I like the thick black lines and the blue against the yellow. It is a screen print and is really nice to see in real life. I like how you can keep looking at it and never fully understand it. The title is one of boredom, perhaps feeling restless and lonely.

kirkby-30

Materials to make pop art collages.

kirkby-23

Elisabeth Frink  –Assassins I, 1963

kirkby-22

Bridget Riley-untitled, 1964.

kirkby-24

Barbara HepworthSpring, 1966

kirkby-28

Richard Hamilton– ‘My Marilyn’, 1965

kirkby-25

kirkby-27

Patrick Caulfield–  ‘Oh Helen, I roam my room.’, 1973

kirkby-29

And no day trip  would be complete without some car park pictures. I like old car parks for their strangeness and they didn’t disappoint. They are place and time all in one.

kirkby-33

kirkby-32

kirkby-35

All websites and links accessed- 6th/7th May 2016.

Leave a Reply

