Project 2-Exercise 1-Mapping a Plot Journey.

The Stages of The Hero’s Journey Act I (Beginning = the hero’s decision to act) 1. Ordinary World 2. Call to Adventure 3. Refusal of the Call 4. Meeting with the Mentor 5. Crossing the First Threshold Act II (Middle = the action) 6. Tests, Allies, Enemies 7. Approach to the inmost Cave 8. Ordeal 9. Reward Act III (End = the consequences of action) 10. The Road Back 11. Resurrection 12. Return with the Elixir. (Vogler, 1999, p.14)

For my plot journey I have chosen American Werewolf in London.


Bing Image Search

Ordinary World: David and Jack are travelling around Europe, they are currently hiking around Northern England.

Call to Adventure: They enter The Slaughtered Lamb pub and get embroiled with the locals. After asking about a star painted on the wall they are asked to leave but with no explanation about why.

Refusal to the Call: Stay on the road. Keep clear of the moors- They were told this before leaving the pub.

Meeting with Mentor: David and Jack wander onto the moors and are attacked by a beast. Jack is killed but David is saved by the locals who shoot the beast. David is sent to London to recover from his injuries.

Crossing the Threshold: David gets better but he is of interest to doctors and police and he starts a relationship with a nurse called Alex. He suffers terrible nightmares.

Test, Allies, Enemies: The decaying corpse of Jack visits David in hospital and tells him that he was bitten by a werewolf and that he needs to kill himself before the next full moon otherwise he will also be transformed and be in a lot of trouble.

Approach Inner Most Cave: David moves in with Alex the nurse and they sleep together. He spends the afternoon in her flat reading whilst she is at work but begins to feel a bit odd. Suddenly on the eve of the full moon David starts to change into a werewolf.

Ordeal: David who is now a werewolf goes out and kills 6 people that night and wakes up in the wolf enclosure at London Zoo with no recollection of what has happened.

Reward: David feels good and alive but is upset once he hears news about the deaths the night before. He realises that it was him that killed them and starts to gets upset in Trafalgar Square.

The Road Back: David gets another visit from Jack in the cinema and the people he killed. They are destined to walk the earth forever until the curse is lifted. David then starts to change in the cinema.

Resurrection: David goes on a killing spree in Piccadilly circus. He is cornered by police down an alleyway and Alex runs down to see him. She tells him that she loves him.

Return with the Elixir: David, the werewolf’s eyes look at her for a moment as if he recognises her, but then he goes for her before being shot dead by police. Alex is in tears upset standing over David’s human body.



Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s