Visits- An Eye for Colour-Liverpool World Museum and surroundings.

Back In May I visited Liverpool World Museum to see their Eye for Colour exhibition.

‘Returning to World Museum for its 10th anniversary, having been seen by a more than a million people across Europe, Eye For Colour is a visual feast of an exhibition that will alert the senses and stimulate the mind.

This inspiring family-friendly exhibition is packed with hands-on exhibits and interactive displays, exploring the endless ways in which colour shapes our world.’

In the exhibition you can find out:

how colour is formed

how artists use colour in creativity

how animals use colour as camouflage – changing colour to blend in with their environment

how some birds and reptiles use colour to stand out from the crowd – altering their colour to attract a mate

From –http://www.liverpoolmuseums.org.uk/wml/exhibitions/colour/

untitled-17

I was greeted by this rather large eye as I walked in and I liked it very much. I wish I had a big eye like this in my house. I seemed to gravitate towards the mood rooms which were really lovely and I didn’t want to come out of them.

untitled-18

untitled-19

The colours were beautiful and they changed really slowly so you didn’t really notice the transition.

untitled-45

This view showed what it was like to look through various insects eyes, I didn’t write them down as I had forgotten my pen but I know a bluebottle was one.

untitled-43

untitled-20

I liked this one the best as it is like a disco ball, if only you could see like this all the time.

untitled-42

Three colours that our eyes need to see and compare colour.

untitled-47

untitled-46

A breakfast of colour blindness. I really liked this part of the exhibition as I don’t know much about being colour blind so it was interesting to see the differences of how I see things-which isn’t very well with a cataract and not being able to differentiate between colour.

untitled-5

After leaving here I went round a few more floors of the museum. I very much liked this skeleton who I named Algernon.

untitled-48

Butterflies and bugs in cases.

untitled-49

Moving on into town I came past my favourite old shop fronting which is now sold and will be probably made into a pub. I always loved the font on the antiques sign and I wonder where it will now end up.

untitled-7

Inside 😦

untitled-50

Walking further on I visited The Metropolitan Cathedral as I love the doors and the concrete.

untitled-51

They have a very excellent shop full of things like these tasteful statues, but maybe not in the excellent way I am thinking of.

untitled-52

William Mitchell goodness.

untitled-56

Considering it was May it was absolutely freezing and very windy but I just love the colours of the concrete as the sun hits it.

untitled-11

untitled-12

untitled-13

untitled-14

untitled-15

untitled-9

untitled-57

untitled-58

Aah The Futurist. It has been on the demolition list for a while now, most of the street has been really. I think it is already nice and gritty but despite a campaign to save it and the facade, it is now being demolished.

There is a bit about it here –http://cinema-theatre.org.uk/our-campaigns/cinemas-at-risk/lime-street-picture-house-futurist-liverpool/

….and what it will look like once regenerated- http://www.bbc.co.uk/news/uk-england-merseyside-36955059

….and it being demolished-http://www.liverpoolecho.co.uk/news/liverpool-news/demolition-historic-futurist-cinema-begins-11697085

untitled-16

I am glad I go to see it one last time before it goes.

Leave a Reply

