Visits-Tonight At Noon-Liverpool Central Library.

I came across this exhibition by accident on a quick visit into Liverpool Central  library to drop my books off. I always like to have a look round as it is lovely and I am very glad that I did.

Tonight At Noon is a series of exhibitions and events to celebrate 50 years since the publication of ‘The Mersey Sound’ by Liverpool Poets Adrian Henri, Roger McGough and Brian Patten. I discovered Brian Patten’s work in my early 20’s after splitting up with a boyfriend. I read Love poems until the spine fell out of the book, but I still have it and I occasionally revisit it.

The first thing you notice is the amount of colour in the exhibition. All 60’s fonts and mixed colours and there is a sense of deep nostalgia looking through it all. The exhibition has been curated by Catherine Marcangeli, who is the partner of the late Adrian Henri. My quick visit turned into an hour and it was the best hour.

Processed with VSCO with 4 preset

Processed with VSCO with 4 preset

The font on this book and the design is beautiful and is completely timeless.

Processed with VSCO with 4 preset

Processed with VSCO with 4 preset

Processed with VSCO with 4 preset

Processed with VSCO with 4 preset

Processed with VSCO with 4 preset

Processed with VSCO with 4 preset

Processed with VSCO with 4 preset

I like on this cover, that all bases are covered, Birkdale for the golf, Runcorn Bridge, New Brighton, Bidston. I looked to find out more about the festival as I wanted to see the artworks and literature they used and what was shown but there doesn’t seem to be that much. There are mentions HERE and HERE. I will keep looking.

Processed with VSCO with 4 preset

Processed with VSCO with 4 preset

Processed with VSCO with 4 preset

Processed with VSCO with 4 preset

Processed with VSCO with 4 preset

Processed with VSCO with 4 preset

Look at this cover! I have been looking for a copy ever since but it is not this one I have seen.

Processed with VSCO with 4 preset

Processed with VSCO with 4 preset

Processed with VSCO with 4 preset

Processed with VSCO with 4 preset

Summer with Monika, I read years ago and I think there is still a copy in the loft. It is weird really how much I associated this exhibition with things in my life from years ago. Maybe as Liverpool is near to me or that my family are from there, the places I used to go to or the company I kept. I don’t know.

Processed with VSCO with 4 preset

The atrium of Central Library.

Processed with VSCO with 4 preset

I took a small trip before I left to see my favourite book cover of all time. George Maws- The Genus Crocus. I have always been fascinated by it and Faith Shannon’s cover design is perfect. She is someone I really admire and the breadth and design of her work is wonderful. You can read more about her HERE.

Processed with VSCO with 4 preset

Processed with VSCO with 4 preset

Exhibition leaflet- The exhibition is on until the 15th July 2017 in the Hornby Library. More about the events surrounding it are HERE. There is also a radio show on BBC Radio 4 where Roger McGough and Brian Patten discuss the making of The Mersey Sound. Listen HERE.

img_20170529_0001_new.jpg

 

IMG_20170529_0002_NEW

All websites and links accessed- 13th June 2017.

Leave a Reply

