Visits- Tate Liverpool-In Focus-Tracey Emin, William Blake, Ellsworth Kelly.

Back in April I took a very quick trip to Tate Liverpool to see Tracey Emin’s bed. I wasn’t allowed to take a picture of it so here is one from the Tate website.

tracey-enim-tateliv-9035-pete-carr

http://www.tate.org.uk/whats-on/tate-liverpool/exhibition/tracey-emin-and-william-blake-focus- 9th July 2017

I hadn’t seen the piece before and I felt like I wanted to sit on it and look closer at all the things on the floor. As I didn’t have much time I looked all around it and I think I like it. I know it  has been about for a while but it was still nice to see. I think what I liked about it was that everything is in its place, it might look messy and grotty but everything that she needs is there. Its a piece of her life at that time and place in her life and I like it.

My Bed is part of a wider exhibition with William Blake called In Focus. I haven’t seen much of his work before and it was nice to piece the two artists together and see the comparisons in their work with death, birth and poetry.

The Blasphemer c.1800 by William Blake 1757-1827

The Blasphemer c.1800 William Blake. Flippng heck.

IMG_20170529_0005_NEW

IMG_20170529_0006_NEW

I had five minutes to visit Ellsworth Kelly and I liked it!

I hadn’t really heard much about him before which is the story of my life it seems but I liked his work very much. Here is a bit about him,

Ellsworth Kelly (May 31, 1923 – December 27, 2015) was an American painter, sculptor, and print maker associated with hard-edge painting, Colour Field painting and minimalism. His works demonstrate unassuming techniques emphasising line, colour and form, similar to the work of John McLaughlin and Kenneth Noland. Kelly often employed bright colours. He lived and worked in Spencertown, New York.’

http://www.tate.org.uk/art/artists/ellsworth-kelly-1391-accessed 13th July 2017

I liKed this piece very much,

Ellsworth-Kelly-Méditerranée-1952-785x486

Méditerranée (1952) © Ellsworth Kelly. Tate. Lent from a private collection 2002.

Méditerranée was inspired by Kelly’s fascination with how light was refracted by the surface of the River Seine. I don’t see a river or the light but I’ve been up the Seine and it is beautiful.

For a very quick trip I over faced myself and gave myself very little time to look properly. I saw My Bed though and learnt about an artist I didn’t know about and got some leaflets so it wasn’t all bad.

IMG_20170529_0003_NEW

IMG_20170529_0004_NEW

All website and links accessed- 13th July 2017.

Leave a Reply

